top of page

Talk Less. Do More.



Finally emerging out of the “post-grad life crisis”, I’m moving forward with an assortment of life reflections. Though one stands out most right now:


Privacy leads to progress.


I’m what some like to call a “spastic dreamer”. Constantly creating new goals, mapping new paths and working towards a big idea. The inside of my brain looks like a game of ultimate pinball. Pre-crisis mode, I felt an overwhelming desire to keep people informed. Outside justification and support was necessary for every decision made. New plan? Every person in my life had to approve. Change of pace? I needed to explain to everyone why I was taking a different path. My insecurities drove my addiction for acceptance.


Until now.


In this turning point of life, I plan on scaling back a notch. Now is the time to work hard in silence and let my success make the noise. Lately, I’ve been reading books by entrepreneurs and each reinforces this fact as a key to their success. It is unnecessary to share every aspect of our lives in detail with every person we know. Working swift and under the radar opens the door to more opportunities. Being private isn’t a negative thing. In fact, it helps provide a greater sense of clarity.


In the past, I found myself overwhelmed with various opinions. “You should do this.” “How does that benefit your future?” “No..that’s a bad idea.” And though I respected the advice, it became emotionally exhausting. I’m going to continue developing my life behind the scenes. Working on building my future without spreading my business out to everyone. Choices will be based on what I want, instead of what I feel others want for me. I’ll definitely remain active on social media. It's a part of the business I'm trying to build. However, I'll be more selective about the information I share. So, here’s a little loving advice from the pinball wizard over here:


Plans change. Goals transform. Vision can be re-directed. So, save yourself the pressure of always having to answer to someone when they do. Now, more than ever, is the time to hone in and focus on creating the life you want. Stay humble and work hard privately. And when the moment presents itself, highlight your accomplishment to the fullest. It will redefine the significance of every dream you accomplish.


Sincerely,

Shelbs

bottom of page