top of page

My One Goal For 2019




We live in a digital age where practically our entire life is online, so naturally this would be where I declare my manifestations for 2019. I say "manifestation" because I'm actually making them happen this year, unlike those of the past. See, I can't fully write myself off and say I haven't accomplished anything (that's super dramatic and self-deprecating). What I can speak to is the fact that I LITERALLY have creative commitment issues. What are those you ask?


Creative Commitment Issues (n.) or verb depending on the state:

1. A condition of fear in regards to living out your creative goals. Resulting in sabotaging yourself because you're afraid of judgement/ the unknown.


It's a real condition folks!


Today I cleaned off my computer, which took ridiculously longer than anticipated. Within the archives of randomly saved documents splattered in my folders, I found sooo many past creative endeavors. Blogs, social media posts, graphic designs for business ideas gone by. "Styled By Shelbs", "Beauty with a Brand", "Midtown Monologues", just to name a few. I discovered documents for past consulting jobs, old working documents for projects with friends, even design school applications. For a second, I would laugh. Then soon after, my giggles turned into a weighted consciousness spreading on my chest. I looked at the time and realized "What if I had just stuck with ONE of those?" What if I had just remained consistent with my dreams instead of always jumping ship right as I was heading into a good direction?


I feel like my spastic energy is partially to blame. I love innovation and creating new concepts. Though with every new idea came the abandonment of the present one at the time. Indecisiveness played a huge role as well. I love a million different things so it's hard for me to focus. Writing, photography, film, dance, interior design, fashion design, experiential marketing, social media, branding, etc. HOW do you actually tie that into one singular concept? Or how do you stick to one of these without bouncing around to the next? (my problem) So... here I am today. Going into 2019 with a plan I hope I can write about this time next year with a positive perspective.


In 2019, I'm just going to commit.


Yup..that's it. Here are the subsets of this one goal:


Commit to my creative processes.

Commit to putting myself in new environment with new people.

Commit to doing what is best for me physically, mentally, and emotionally.

Commit to having faith even when I'm scared of the unknown.

Commit to making my dreams a reality.

Commit to showing up every single day.


I'm just going to commit.


And I'm extremely excited to where that commitment leads me to in 365 days. What are you committing to for 2019? Shoot me an email if you need a digital accountability partner. Time to make it happen.


Sending love and light always. :)


Sincerely,

Shelby

bottom of page