top of page

Little By Little

Updated: Mar 11, 2019



"How I quit my job, traveled the world, fell in love, and got my dream job- in ONE year."


Headline after headline, lifestyle articles FLOOD my timeline. I'll admit.. I click every single one open. Intently reading, taking mental (sometimes written) notes to re-evaluate my life. A minor panic attack usually proceeds about five minutes later.


"I really need to get my life together and do SOMETHING." 


But what is SOMETHING?


Recently, I've noticed many friends feeling the same and it baffles me. Why is the current state of our lives never completely satisfying? Better yet, why do we always have the looming feeling we haven't accomplished enough? A morning revelation strolling through SOHO brought some clarity.


We admire "BIG" pictures, but never take their creation into consideration. From pixels in a TV screen, to paint strokes on a canvas, every big masterpiece hold tiny pieces. Similarly, every life story is comprised of multiple memories and experiences. Unnecessary weight and disappointment piles up often. We stress constantly about moving toward the next big thing. Anxiety builds and we compare ourselves, failing to understand a simple fact.The journey toward our dreams is an individualized road. 


There is no single "Recipe For Success".


For some people, their ideal picture came together instantly. Others, not so much. Life factors influence the process and our decisions move us in different directions. Some people go to grad school, some people pack up and travel. Maybe you are ready to pick up and move, or maybe you're getting some experience under your belt first. Regardless of your choice, NO CHOICE IS WRONG.

Because at the end of the day, it's YOUR life. Just because an article gives you steps on how to live doesn't mean those are mandatory rules to find happiness. More importantly, it doesn't mean you're a failure for not living that way.


We might not always be where we want to be, but we're paving a path. Little by little, the pieces are falling in place. Little by little, we're building our dreams and achieving our goals. I know what I want and I'm working to get it. It might not happen as fast as others, but I'm moving at a steady pace and making adjustments accordingly. My little changes are starting to pay off. I'm anxious and want things to happen now, but I'm going to focus on being patient and enjoy the process of creating my big picture.

I encourage you to do the same too.


"It" might not happen in a year, or five years, BUT it will happen eventually.The key is to remain optimistic and believe in yourself.

Celebrate the little victories. They're just as important, if not more important than the big ones. 


Sending love and light always.


Sincerely,

Shelbs

bottom of page